July 13, 2020<br />
Contact: Teddy Tschann<br />
<a href=”mailto:teddy.tschann@state.mn.us” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener noreferrer” data-auth=”NotApplicable”>teddy.tschann@state.mn.us</a><br />
<p style=”text-align: center;”><a name=”x__Hlk44599035″>Commission on Judicial Selection&nbsp;</a>Opens Application Process for Vacancies in the Fourth Judicial District<strong style=”text-align: left;”>&nbsp;</strong></p>
<p>[ST. PAUL, MN] &ndash;&nbsp;<a name=”x__Hlk44599062″>On July 6, the Commission on Judicial Selection announced&nbsp;</a>three new vacancies occurring in Minnesota&rsquo;s Fourth Judicial District. These vacancies will occur upon the retirements of the Honorable Fred Karasov and the Honorable Ronald L. Abrams, and the appointment of the Honorable Theodora K. Ga&iuml;tas to the Minnesota Court of Appeals. These seats are chambered in Minneapolis in Hennepin County.</p>
<p><a name=”x__Hlk44913613″>The application process is now open for these vacancies. The Commission is searching for fair, experienced, and civic-minded individuals to serve on the bench and offer their talents to Minnesota&rsquo;s judicial system. Per statute, the Commission will consider the following qualifications for judicial office: integrity, maturity, health (if job related), judicial temperament, legal knowledge, ability, experience, and community service. The Commission is seeking applicants who reflect Minnesota&rsquo;s full diversity.</a></p>
<p>Individuals wishing to apply may request an application and application instructions by contacting Carl Dennis, Associate Director of Appointments, via e-mail at&nbsp;<a href=”mailto:Judicial.Selection@state.mn.us” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener noreferrer” data-auth=”NotApplicable”>Judicial.Selection@state.mn.us</a>.&nbsp;<strong>Only one application is required to apply for all three vacancies. Application materials are due by close of business on Monday, July 27, 2020 and&nbsp;<a name=”x__Hlk44599313″>should be addressed to the Chair of the Commission</a><a name=”x__Hlk44914060″>, Ms. Lola Velazquez-Aguilu</a>.&nbsp;<a name=”x__Hlk44914075″>The Commission expects to hold interviews&nbsp;</a>in early August 2020.</strong></p>
<p>For inquiries concerning the application process, please contact Carl Dennis at&nbsp;<a href=”mailto:Judicial.Selection@state.mn.us” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener noreferrer” data-auth=”NotApplicable”>Judicial.Selection@state.mn.us</a>.</p>
<p><a name=”x__Hlk44914088″>For more information about the judicial selection process, please visit our website:&nbsp;</a><a href=”https://mn.gov/governor/administration/judicialappointments/” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener noreferrer” data-auth=”NotApplicable”>https://mn.gov/governor/administration/judicialappointments/</a>.</p>