If you work in New York State, your paychecks could be getting bigger this year thanks to increases in the hourly minimum wage for non-exempt employees and in the salary threshold to qualify as an exempt employee.
New year, new minimum wage and salary thresholds
Minimum wage increases
At the start of 2022, minimum wage and salary increases went into effect across the state. These increases vary based on county and job role.
The minimum hourly rate for workers in Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester Counties increased to $15 per hour. The minimum wage in New York City remains at $15 per hour, as does the minimum wage for fast wood workers throughout the state. Elsewhere in the state, the minimum wage rose from $12.50 per hour to $13.20.
Minimum salary threshold increases
Additionally, executive and administrative employees in Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties must now earn at least $1,125.00 per week to remain exempt from overtime eligibility. This is an increase from the previous threshold of $1.050.00 per week and puts it at the same level as  in New York City.
Salary thresholds for exempt employees in the rest of the state will also increase, from $937.50 to $990.00 per week.
Expecting wage conflicts
When new wage laws go into effect, there is often a period of confusion and non-compliance.
Some employers intentionally and knowingly underpay workers. They might do so by:

Not paying minimum wage
Misclassifying workers
Not compensating employees for all hours worked
Withholding overtime pay
Failing to keep accurate work hour records

Other employers make clerical or operational mistakes accidentally. These oversights or errors can lead to improper payments.
Whether an employer’s noncompliance with wage laws is intentional or not, it is unlawful.
Remedying wage and hour violations
Employees should check their paystubs closely for wage violations, such as an employer’s failure to pay the new required rates.
If questions or concerns arise, employees may want to speak with their employer or consult an attorney.