For days it has been the “Explosive Diarrhea” outbreak. Today, a new phrase slid into the lexicon – “Poopy Pants Parasite.” Neither is pleasant.

The CDC moved this morning and the FDA moved this afternoon, and for the first time in a week the two agencies are publishing the same numbers: 1,947 people, nine states, 98 hospitalizations, no deaths. Illinois, Kansas, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania have joined Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio and West Virginia. The four additions were reported first by the Washington Post at five o’clock this morning, hours ahead of either agency.
The FDA did not update its advisory. It built a new one at a new address, titled a nine-state outbreak. The old five-state page is still live, still carrying 1,644 cases and 94 hospitalizations, and the new page opens with a banner telling readers that an update is available — linked back to the old page.
The outbreak also got shorter. Both agencies now say illnesses began on June 22 and ran through July 20. Until today both said May 13 through July 13. You can watch it happen on a single FDA page: the current update reads June 22, and the preserved July 16 entry three screens below it still reads May 13. Roughly six weeks of illnesses were inside the outbreak definition yesterday and are outside it today. The FDA attributes the rise in cases in part to the four new states, and repeats that it can take as long as six weeks to determine whether a sick person belongs to this outbreak.
The distribution list grew from twenty-seven states to twenty-eight. The state added is West Virginia — which has been one of the named outbreak states since July 16, and which spent the week since then absent from the list of places the recalled lettuce was sent. That gap is now closed.
The FDA also broke retail out from foodservice for the first time. Recalled Marketside product went to Walmart stores in fifteen states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. Michigan and Ohio, which between them account for more than ten thousand of this year’s cases, are not on the retail list. And under a new heading the agency discloses that the recall reaches outside the United States, and that the firm’s own customer records show recalled product was sold to consumers in Mexico — the day after Mexico’s health ministry announced that its samples from the plant were negative.
On the retracted border sample, the FDA is now unusually blunt: the false positive, it says in capital letters, does not change the basis for its investigation or the epidemiological data supporting the recall, and traceback and outbreak data continue to converge on shredded iceberg lettuce from central Mexican growers.
Michigan reported 8,176 cases today, up 512 in a day, with 160 hospitalized as of yesterday and cases in 70 of its 82 counties. Ohio’s statewide count, stuck at 1,316 since July 16, has moved to 2,596. Illinois is at 408 with 31 hospitalized, Kansas at 289, Oklahoma at 172. Add up what all fifty states publish about themselves and you get roughly 14,800 people. The official outbreak number is 1,947. CNN counted more than 12,000 in the nine outbreak states alone.
Below is where each state stands tonight, with the source for every number. The nine states now in the outbreak are shaded.
| State | 2026 cases reported | Part of the Taco Bell outbreak? | Source |
| Alabama | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Alaska | 5; 3 travel-related | No – AK DOH: no link to the outbreak | AK DOH / Epoch |
| Arizona | 19 | Cases reported; not in cluster | AZ DHS / Epoch |
| Arkansas | 26 year-to-date | Under investigation for outbreak link | AR DOH / Epoch |
| California | 41 provisional (Jul 14) | No – CDPH: no local acquisition identified | CDPH |
| Colorado | 150; 4 hospitalized; 8 of 120 domestic | No – CDPHE: not part of the Midwest outbreak | CDPHE / Epoch |
| Connecticut | 35 (up from 19 in 2025) | Links its cases to the national outbreak | CT DPH |
| Delaware | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Florida | 106 | No – FL DOH: seasonal disease Florida sees yearly | FL DOH / Epoch |
| Georgia | 11–30 domestic since May 1 | No – GA DPH: no Georgia-specific cluster | GA DPH / Epoch |
| Hawaii | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Idaho | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Illinois | 408 confirmed and probable (Jul 21), up from 215 a week earlier; 215 domestic, 145 travel, 48 unknown; 31 hospitalized | YES – added to the outbreak Jul 24; IDPH had said no single source was identified | IDPH / CBS Chicago |
| Indiana | 684 (Jul 23), up from 327 on Jul 16; ages 8–98; Allen Co. 109 | YES – Taco Bell outbreak state; daily updates | IN DOH / WISH-TV |
| Iowa | 57; about half domestic | No – IA HHS: not connected to national investigations | IA HHS / Epoch |
| Kansas | 289 (Jul 22), up from 55 on Jul 15; 12 hospitalized; more than 30% in Johnson County | YES – added Jul 24, but KDHE linked its own cases to the national outbreak on Jul 22 | KDHE |
| Kentucky | 192 (Jul 15); 108 confirmed; 7 hospitalized | YES – Taco Bell outbreak state; weekly updates | KY DPH / Epoch |
| Louisiana | 1–10 | Not declared part; not in cluster | LA DOH / Epoch |
| Maine | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Maryland | 69; some travel-related | No – no common link identified | MD DOH / Epoch |
| Massachusetts | 18 (normal seasonal amount) | No – MA DPH: not affected by the Midwest outbreak | MA DPH / Epoch |
| Michigan | 8,176 (Jul 24), up 512 in a day; 160 hospitalized (Jul 23), up from 102 a week earlier; cases in 70 of 82 counties | YES – leads the outbreak; daily updates on weekdays | MDHHS / ClickOnDetroit |
| Minnesota | 41 since May 1 | No – MDH: no increase over expected | MDH / Epoch |
| Mississippi | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Missouri | 216 (Jul 19), up from 43 on Jul 12; state normally sees about a dozen a year | Not declared part of the Taco Bell cluster | MO DHSS / KBIA |
| Montana | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Nebraska | 49 | No – NE DHHS: none related to the wider outbreak | NE DHHS / Epoch |
| Nevada | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| New Hampshire | 1–10 | Cases reported; not in cluster | NH DHHS / Epoch |
| New Jersey | 46 (May 1–Jul 11); within typical range | No – NJDOH: no clusters or outbreaks | NJDOH |
| New Mexico | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| New York | 632 since May, up from 517 on Jul 13; includes NYC | No – NYSDOH: not a major deviation from the norm | NYSDOH / NBC News |
| North Carolina | 561 (Jul 21), up from 307 on Jul 14; 13 hospitalized; Wake Co. 366 | Statewide outbreak; NCDHHS says likely multiple sources, not the Taco Bell cluster | NCDHHS / WRAL |
| North Dakota | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Ohio | 2,596 statewide (Jul 24), up from 1,316 on Jul 16; Northwest Ohio alone reported 2,268 on Jul 22, with 1,044 in Lucas County | YES – Taco Bell outbreak state; CDC has sent field staff for about three weeks | ODH / NBC News |
| Oklahoma | 172 (Jul 21) – 170 confirmed and 2 probable, up from 57; 12 hospitalized | YES – added Jul 24, but OSDH had already tied cases to Taco Bell | OSDH / News 9 |
| Oregon | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Pennsylvania | 28 (Jul 16); cyclosporiasis is not a reportable condition in Pennsylvania and reporting is voluntary | YES – added Jul 24; PA DOH had described its cases as mostly travel-related | PA DOH / Epoch |
| Rhode Island | 4 since May 1 | Cases reported; not in cluster | RI DOH / Epoch |
| South Carolina | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| South Dakota | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Tennessee | 11–30 | Investigating; not in cluster | TN DOH / Epoch |
| Texas | 68 (Jul 13); 15 hospitalized; all domestic | Meets CDC case definition; no source identified | TX DSHS |
| Utah | 1–10 | No – UT DHHS: not related to the wider outbreak | UT DHHS / Epoch |
| Vermont | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |
| Virginia | 79 (Jul 20), up from 37 on Jul 4; 38 domestic, 27 travel, 14 unknown | No – VDH: no evidence of a Virginia outbreak; posts weekly on Mondays | VDH |
| Washington | 27 since May 1; 5 domestic or possibly domestic | No – WA DOH: not associated with other states | WA DOH / Epoch |
| West Virginia | 195 (Jul 21); 15 hospitalized | YES – Taco Bell outbreak state; added to FDA’s distribution list Jul 24 after a week off it; updates Tuesdays and Fridays | WV Dept. of Health |
| Wisconsin | 61 (May 1–Jul 15); 11 domestic | No – WI DHS: no common food item identified | WI DHS / Epoch |
| Wyoming | No 2026 count published | Not reported as part of the outbreak | CDC |