Skip to content

Menu

LexBlog, Inc. logo
NetworkSub-MenuBrowse by SubjectBrowse by PublisherJoin the NetworkGet StartedSubscribeSupportContact
Search
Close

Pennsylvania Court Recognizes That A Payment Required By Law Is Not A “Voluntary Payment” Requiring The Insurer’s Consent

By Nathan Lander & Proskauer Labor and Employment Department on October 16, 2014
Email this postTweet this postLike this postShare this post on LinkedIn

If you are required by law to perform an act, the act is not “voluntary.”  This proposition may seem obvious enough to most, but one insurer recently needed to be reminded of this common sense point by a Pennsylvania federal court in First Commonwealth Bank v. St. Paul Mercury Insurance Company.  There, the Court held that an insured did not violate a “voluntary payment” clause in its liability policy by refunding funds to a client’s account as required by a Pennsylvania statute.  This decision comes as welcome news to insureds, as well as to fans of the English language.

Liability policies often state that the insurer will not provide coverage for any “voluntary payment” made by the insured without the insurer’s consent.  As many courts have recognized, this common provision simply serves to prevent insureds from making gratuitous payments to claimants or entering into settlements without seeking the insurer’s consent.  In First Commonwealth, however, an insurer attempted to stretch the provision far beyond this understood meaning and apply it to a much different situation. 

In 2012, one of First Commonwealth’s clients was the victim of a malicious software attack.  This allowed a hacker access to the client’s on-line banking user name and password for an account at First Commonwealth.  Utilizing this information, the hacker made three transfers from the bank account – totaling in excess of $3.5 million.  The vast majority of these funds made their way to Russia and could not be recovered.

After these fraudulent transfers were discovered, First Commonwealth reimbursed the client for the full amount of its losses.  This payment was not made gratuitously or as part of a settlement.  Rather, First Commonwealth refunded its client’s lost funds because it was required to do so by an explicit Pennsylvania statute regulating unauthorized bank transfers.  First Commonwealth then turned to its insurer, St. Paul Mercury, for indemnification of its losses.

St. Paul Mercury denied coverage on the grounds that First Commonwealth had made a “voluntary payment” to its client without the insurer’s permission, thus breaching the policy.  After First Commonwealth filed a coverage action, St. Paul Mercury moved to dismiss on this same ground.

The Court denied the motion to dismiss, rejecting the argument that First Commonwealth’s reimbursement payment to its client violated the policy’s “voluntary payment” provision.  Citing to Black’s Law Dictionary, the Court explained that a “voluntary payment” means a payment that is “[u]nconstrained by interference; not impelled by outside influence.”  A regulation requiring payment, the Court aptly observed, is clearly an “outside influence” that caused the insured to make the payment in question.  As such, the payment was not “voluntary.”

There are many situations in today’s heavily regulated environment in which insureds are compelled to make payments or otherwise incur covered losses: ranging from financial institutions that are compelled to refund unauthorized or fraudulent transfers to corporations that are compelled to remediate environmental contamination.  An insured should not have to worry that by complying with such regulations it risks losing coverage.  By holding that a payment is not “voluntary” when compelled by law, the First Commonwealth Court helps protect insureds, at least in Pennsylvania, from this dilemma.

Although other courts around the country should likewise apply the plain meaning of the word “voluntary,” and find that compelled payments do not constitute “voluntary payments,” there is an additional step insureds can take to protect themselves against arguments to the contrary by their insurers. 

Most policies provide that the insurer cannot unreasonably withhold consent to voluntary payments.  Thus, insureds that are compelled to make payments should still consider seeking consent from their insurers for making such payments.  An insurer acting reasonably will have no choice but to consent.  If the insurer refuses consent, the insured can then argue not only that the payment was not voluntary but also that the insurer unreasonably withheld consent.  When dealing with an insurer trying to get off the hook for payment, having two arguments is better than one.

Photo of Nathan Lander Nathan Lander

Nathan Lander is a partner in the Insurance Recovery & Counseling Group who represents clients in high-stakes disputes with their insurance companies as well as counseling them regarding a wide array of insurance issues.  Clients have praised Nate in Chambers and The Legal…

Nathan Lander is a partner in the Insurance Recovery & Counseling Group who represents clients in high-stakes disputes with their insurance companies as well as counseling them regarding a wide array of insurance issues.  Clients have praised Nate in Chambers and The Legal 500 as being “responsive, knowledgeable and creative,” a “zealous advocate” and “absolutely amazing to work with.”

During the course of his career, Nate has assisted clients in recovering more than $1 billion in disputes with their insurers through litigations, arbitrations, mediations and negotiations.  Nate prides himself in helping clients reach favorable resolutions with their insurers where possible, but when insurers refuse to pay, Nate has aggressively litigated coverage disputes against them in courts and arbitrations throughout the country.

Although Nate has represented a wide range of policyholder clients – including Fortune 500 companies and professional sports teams, among others – Nate is particularly well-known for his representations of asset management clients in insurance disputes.  Nate has represented numerous private equity firms and portfolio companies, hedge funds, registered funds, venture capital firms, and other asset managers in disputes with insurance companies, including claims for coverage under D&O, E&O, crime, life, property, and other policies.  For example, Nate was recently lead counsel for a private equity firm in a litigation over $100 million of coverage its insurers refused to provide for claims against the private equity firm arising from the bankruptcy of a portfolio company.

In addition to his litigation practice, Nate also regularly advises clients on risk management issues, including structuring of insurance programs and the negotiation and drafting of policy language, in order to help protect clients in the event of a claim or loss.  Nate has particular experience with respect to the insurance markets and products for asset management clients.  He has assisted numerous asset managers of all types and portfolio companies in reviewing and negotiating potential insurance policies or programs, including D&O, E&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime, cyber, reps & warranties and other specialized products.

Read more about Nathan LanderEmail
Show more Show less
  • Posted in:
    Insurance
  • Blog:
    Risk and Recovery
  • Organization:
    Proskauer Rose LLP

Call us at 1-800-913-0988 or email sales@lexblog.com.

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter RSS
The Library at LexBlog
  • About LexBlog
  • The Field We Built
  • Library at LexBlog
  • Our Beliefs
  • Our Team
  • Contact LexBlog
  • Disclaimer
  • Editorial Policy
  • Terms of Service
  • Get Started
  • Publishing Solutions
  • Compass
  • Submit a Request
  • Support Center
  • System Status
Copyright © 2026, LexBlog, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Law blog design & platform by LexBlog LexBlog Logo