The Japanese government declared a state of emergency on April 7, 2020 affecting Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Osaka, Hyogo, and Fukuoka. The state of emergency goes into effect April 8 and lasts until May 6. The prefectural governments have the power to determine their own measures, which are expected to follow those taken by the Tokyo Metropolitan Government.