China Law Vision

Blog Authors

Latest from China Law Vision

Authored by Arthur Dong <dongxiao@anjielaw.com>, Darren Mayberry <darren.mayberry@anjielaw.com>at AnJie Law Firm Machiavelli infamously instructs his Prince that “one ought to be both feared and loved, but as it is difficult for the two to go together, it is much safer to be feared than loved.”[1] Machiavelli ultimately wanted several disputes resolved, and Renaissance Italy thereby united. The Prague Rules pertain to a modern form of dispute resolution directed at far more tractable commercial disputes. It offers methods…
Authored by Gulong Ren (rengulong@anjielaw.com)at AnJie Law Firm The fourth edition of The Lending and Secured Finance Review has been released by the Law Reviews recently, which contains contributions from leading practitioners in 25 different jurisdictions. Each of the contributors has shared their expertise on the developments in the corporate lending and secured finance markets in their respective jurisdictions and on the challenges and opportunities facing market participants. It will be a useful source for…
Authored by ZHAN Hao (zhanhao@anjielaw.com), SONG Ying (songying@anjielaw.com) & Stephanie WU (wuyuanyuan@anjielaw.com) at AnJie Law Firm. On August 9 2018, the finalised China’s three-pronged plan for consolidating its antitrust agencies under the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) is released. This initiative has been anticipated and speculated on since the central government’s release of its structural reform plan on 21 March 2018. According to the government’s plan, the three-pronged plan should have been released on…
Authored by Michael Gu (michaelgu@anjielaw.com) & Sun Sihui (sunsihui@anjielaw.com) at AnJie Law Firm. In 2017 the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) undertook a number of legislative and antitrust enforcement activities. It launched more than 80 investigations into enterprises and administrative agencies and imposed more than Rmb500 million in fines – a steady increase compared with Rmb353.1 million in 2016. Read More…
Authored by Zhan Hao (zhanhao@anjielaw.com) ,Stephanie Wu ( wuyuanyuan@anjielaw.com) and Song Ying (songying@anjielaw.com) at AnJie Law Firm. The concept of “shifting alliances” is derived from EU competition law. According to paragraph 80 of the Commission Consolidated Jurisdictional Notice under Council Regulation (EC) No 139/2004 on the control of concentrations between undertakings (2008/C 95/01) (the “Notice”), Where there is no stable majority in the decision-making procedure and the majority can on each occasion be any of…
Authored byZhan Hao (zhanhao@anjielaw.com) ,Stephanie Wu ( wuyuanyuan@anjielaw.com) and Song Ying (songying@anjielaw.com) at AnJie Law Firm. In around ten years of China’s Anti-Monopoly Law (“AML”) enforcement history, there have seen a number of public enforcement cases associated with collective boycott among competitors (see Table 1).   Both the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) and the State Administration for Industry and Commerce (SAIC) and/or their competent subsidiaries investigated collective boycott among competitors and issued infringement decisions,…
Authored by Song Ying (songying@anjielaw.com) , Ma Chenghao (machenghao@anjielaw.com) ,Wei Fei ( weifei@anjielaw.com) and Sharif Hendry (sharifhendry@anjielaw.com) at AnJie Law Firm. On January 11 2018, following the media report that certain mobile phone application software was infringing user privacy, the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology organised talks with three internet companies. The ministry pointed out that all three companies had collected and used users’ personal information, without fully disclosing to the users the purpose…
Authored by Ren Gulong (rengulong@anjielaw.com) ,Zhang Yuan(zhangyuan@anjielaw.com),Yang Anshu(yanganshu@anjielaw.com),  Wen Xianglai(wenxianglai@anjielaw.com) & Hu Jianan(hujianan@anjielaw.com) at AnJie Law Firm On 19th March 2018, the People’s Bank of China (PBOC) published the Notice of People’s Bank of China No.7 [2018] (the “Notice”), which removes restriction on payment services provided by foreign-invested payment institutions and sets up the rules and regulatory requirements. This Notice has followed the instructions of the 19th CPC National Congress on speeding up the reform…
Authored by Ren Gulong (rengulong@anjielaw.com) & Zhang Yuan(zhangyuan@anjielaw.com) at AnJie Law Firm On 18 March 2018, China’s lawmaker, the National People’s Congress approved a reform plan for the institutional organizations of the State Council, China’s top administrative authority (the “Reform”). Among various substantial restructuring of governmental departments, one of the key part is the restructuring of the financial regulators. This is a substantial reform since 2002 and ends up the framework of separate institutional regulation…
Authored by Zhan Hao (zhanhao@anjielaw.com) ,Stephanie Wu ( wuyuanyuan@anjielaw.com) and Song Ying (songying@anjielaw.com) at AnJie Law Firm.  On March 13, 2018, Li Keqiang, Premier of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China submitted a proposal to the People’s Congress in session to review and consider the “Institutional Reform Program of the State Council” (“Program”), shedding light on plans to consolidate the antitrust enforcement powers under three agencies (the National Development and Reform Commission,…